How long have house cats been around?

Cats likely started hanging around farming communities in the Fertile Crescent about 8,000 years ago, where they settled into a mutually beneficial relationship as humans' rodent patrol. The ancestors of today's domestic cats spread from Asia and into Europe as early as 4400 B.C.E.