Does three of a kind be a straight?

In games using standard poker hand rankings, both three-of-a-kind and straights are quite strong hands. But which one is best in a head-to-head showdown? The simple answer is: no, three-of-a-kind does not beat a straight. Straights are superior in head-to-head showdowns with three-of-a-kind.