What is a lock?

A mechanism for keeping a door, lid, etc., fastened, typically operated only by a key of a particular form. "the key turned firmly in the lock" Similar: bolt, catch, fastener, clasp.

---

a method of restraining someone by holding an arm firmly around their head, especially as a hold in wrestling: