What is rotten on rotten tomatoes?

According to RottenTomatoes.com: When at least 60% of reviews for a movie or TV show are positive, a red tomato indicates its Fresh status. When less than 60% of reviews for a movie or TV show are positive, a green splat indicates its Rotten status.