Was queen elizabeth the queen mother and empress?

India gained its independence from Britain in 1947. As wife and Queen Consort of the King, she would have also been titled Empress of India as was her mother-in-law, Queen Consort Mary. Once India gained its independence the title of Emperor/Empress was of course discontinued.