What are the different types of green beans?

Over 130 varieties (cultivars) of edible pod beans are known. The most common are the green string or snap bean and the yellow or wax bean. There are also Haricot verts or French green beans, which are thinner than a string bean, and yard-long beans. Another type is the Romano or flat bean.