How long does a cup of rice take to cook?

According to Martha Stewart, bring one and one half cups water to a boil in a medium saucepan and stir in rice. Return to a boil and simmer until rice is tender, around 16 - 18 minutes. Remove from heat and let steam, covered, for 10 minutes. Then fluff with a fork and serve.