Why is the sea salt?

According to the National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration, ocean salt primarily comes from rocks on land. Slightly acidic rainfall on the land erodes rock, producing chloride and sodium that are carried away in runoff to rivers leading to the ocean. Sodium and Chloride are 'salty' tasting.