What year did the three point shot start in basketball?

First use was 1961 in the American Basketball League, but only lasted 1 ½ seasons before folding. The NBA,1946, never seriously considered it at that point. But when a new league competing against the NBA was dreamed up in the 1960s, the 3-point shot was back. The 1967 ABA, had a the 3-point shot