What's the story of thumbelina?

Thumbelina is a beautiful, tiny girl – no bigger than a human thumb – who ‘hatches’ from the inside of a tulip. She is so small she lives in a walnut-shell. In true fairy tale style, she is a kindly but lonely heroine, has a a frog suitor, a prince with whom the heroine lives happily ever after