How old do you have to be to stop using a car seat?

In the US, rules on car seats may vary from state to state, but, as an example, the law in Delaware is that all children must be properly restrained in a federally approved child safety seat appropriate for the child’s age, weight, and height, up to 8 years of age or 65 lbs.