What did emily roebling cross in eighteen eighty three?

Emily Warren Roebling will thus be inseparably associated with all that is admirable in human nature.” Due to her dedication to the construction of the bridge, Emily was the first to cross the Brooklyn Bridge after it opened on May 24, 1883.