Do fish sleep in the water?

Most animals sleep and fish are no different. Some differences are obvious, they don’t lie down or close their eyelids, while others are not-so-obvious (fish never go into REM sleep and some have to keep swimming while they sleep, because they need constant ventilation of their gills).