Who discovered the challenger deep?

Challenger Deep was named after the two vessels. In 1960, a "deep boat" named Bathyscaphe Trieste reached the bottom of Challenger Deep. It was the first vessel to do so and was manned by U.S. Navy Lt. Don Walsh and Swiss scientist Jacques Piccard.