Why do the days get shorter in the winter?

Days in the winter are 24 hours long, just like they are in the summer. However, the amount of daylight is less in the winter than in the summer, unless you are living on the equator.

---

It depends on where you are on the globe. Days are shorter in the northern hemisphere because the earth is tilted away from the sun at that time. Due to the angle of the earth, the sun's rays have less exposure to the earth's surface in the northern hemisphere.