Give me facts about r. two d. two?

R2-D2 stands for Second Generation Robotic Droid Series-2, has been in 11 of the 12 Star Wars movies, as of 2022, and has had small appearances in other movies, including Raiders of the Lost Ark and Close Encounters of the Third Kind