What does a division sign look like?

The division sign or is written as a horizontal line with dot above and dot below (obelus), or a slash or horizontal line: ÷ / — indicating division operation of 2 numbers or expressions. For example: 6 ÷ 2 = 3 or 6 / 2 = 3 or 6 above a line - and 2 below it.