What is a cicada insect?

A cicada is an insect that lives in underground burrows for most of its life (2 to 17 years). It comes aboveground to mate and lay eggs for the next generation. Cicadas look like very large flies with long wings that drape over their backs like capes. They have reddish eyes and a black body.