What is fiber?

Fiber is a carbohydrate that the body can't digest. It's found in the plants we eat — fruits, vegetables, grains, and legumes. Fiber can be soluble or insoluble: Soluble fiber dissolves in water. It helps lower cholesterol and improve blood sugar control.

---

Fiber-optic internet, commonly called fiber internet or simply “fiber,” is a broadband connection that can reach speeds of up to 940 Megabits per second (Mbps), with low lag time. The technology uses fiber-optic cable, which amazingly can send data as fast as about 70% the speed of light.