What is fiber?

Fiber is a carbohydrate that the body can't digest. It's found in the plants we eat — fruits, vegetables, grains, and legumes. Fiber can be soluble or insoluble: Soluble fiber dissolves in water. It helps lower cholesterol and improve blood sugar control.