Is man a proper noun?

No, in fact the word man is a common noun. A proper noun is an exact place, person, etc. For example, a man named Hector. A man could be anyone but, Hector is only one person.

---

No, man is a common noun. The specific name of a man, for example John, is a proper noun. Another example: city is a common noun; Los Angeles, which is the name of a city, is a proper noun.