What color is a yam?

A yam is a starchy relative of the potato. It is dark orange and more round than long. A yam is not a sweet potato, which is usually a paler orange than the yam, and longer. The sweet potato, which is not actually a potato, is much more nutritious than the yam or the white potato.

---

Yams are a yellowish-orange color on the inside & a darker orange on the outer skin.