What's the difference between a cottage and a cabin?

A cabin is a small shelter or house, made of wood, situated in a wild or remote area. A cottage is a small house made of any material or wood, typically located near a body of water. The distinction is how they are constructed. A cabin is considered more rustic than a cottage.

---

A cabin is made of wood whereas a cottage can be made of any building materials such as brick or stone as well as wood