What is the heart made of?

The heart consists mostly of cardiac muscle, a special type of muscle that contracts rhythmically of its own accord. A tough membranous bag, called the pericardium, surrounds the heart, and a smooth membrane, called the endocardium, lines the inner surface.

---

The heart consists mostly of cardiac muscle, a special type of muscle that contracts rhythmically of its own accord. A tough membranous bag, called the pericardium, surrounds the heart, and a smooth membrane, called the endocardium, lines the inner surface.