What is the meaning of hesitating?

Hesitating means holding back, being reluctant, or unsure. In a personal sense, you may be hesitating orunsure, holding back to quit your job not knowing if the new job will be better. In a mechanical instance a car engine may be hesitating or holding back when trying to accellerate.