How long can chicken be at room temperature?

Raw chicken should never be at room temperature. Cooked chicken can spend maybe one or two hours at that temp.

---

You can safely leave raw chicken out at room temperature for about two hours — or one hour if the temperature is above 90 degrees Fahrenheit — says the United States Department of Agriculture. The reason is that bacteria grow rapidly when raw chicken is kept at temperatures between 40° F and 140° F.