Why did theodore roosevelt band christmas trees in the white house?

Roosevelt never banned Christmas Trees. The lack of a tree in 1902 was simply due to the fact that President Theodore Roosevelt had not ordered one by December 23.

---

Theodore Roosevelt was an environmentalist and believed in the preservation of forests. He banned Christmas trees in the White House during his presidency because the act of harvesting trees for decoration was a controversial topic among people dedicated to protecting the environment.