How do you grow capers?

Capers are the immature, dark green flower buds of the caper bush, also called Flinders rose. Capers are most often preserved by pickling them in a brine of vinegar, salt, or wine, or by curing in salt.

---

The caper plant is a half-hardy, deciduous shrub. It needs a sunny position with at least 6 hours of sun per day in summer. It needs a minimum temperature of 50° F and is best grown in a greenhouse or well-lit conservatory. It can tolerate lower temperatures if the compost is kept on the dry side.