Why can't koalas be kept as pets?

Koalas can't be kept as pets because they are an endangered species. They also need certain living conditions along with the eucalyptus tree. As much as I myself would love a koala as a pet, it just isn't practical

---

Exotic species, you need special living conditions, they eat a special type of leaf. A food you can't buy at the Pet Shop. They might be a threatened species also. Australia will never sell you one and that's the only place they live.