What was the first book ever made?

The first book ever to be printed and bound was the Gutenberg Bible in 1455. It was a Latin translation of the Christian Bible. Between 158 and 180 copies were printed on a movable metal type. One copy is on display in the New York Public Library.

---

The first written book is The Epic of Gilgamesh. It is a mythologized account of an historical figure, Gilgamesh, a ruler of the Sumerian city-state of Uruk, believed to have ruled sometime between 2700-2500 BC. It was written in cuneiform on clay tablets.