What is a loud fart?

A fart's sound depends on the velocity of expulsion of the gas and the tightness of the sphincter muscles of the anus. Contrary to a popular misconception, fart noise is not generated by the flapping of the butt cheeks. A loud fart is one that has a large expulsion of gas.