Do you have to put butter in the refrigerator?

Butter does not have to be kept refrigerated. But it may melt, and will spoil more quickly. To keep softer butter on hand, leave 1/4 of a stick out covered. There are butter keepers which immerse the butter in salt water. These keep butter fresher on the counter but add salt.