Why are bread and butter pickles called bread and butter pickles?

Supposedly they got their name because during the Great Depression, they were a cheap staple in households. So people used them in sandwiches of bread and butter because that's all they could afford.

---

Supposedly they got their name because during the Great Depression, they were a cheap staple in households. So people used them in sandwiches of bread and butter because that's all they could afford.