Why is your fart stink?

Flatulence and flatus are medical terms for what is commonly known as farting. ... Gases produced during the digestive process cause flatulence. ... It can also contain small amounts of other gases, such as hydrogen sulfide, which make farts smell bad.

---

Gases are also what can make farts smell. Small amounts of hydrogen, carbon dioxide, and methane combine with hydrogen sulfide and ammonia in the large intestine to release a bad odor when you break wind.