How long does it take to cook mackerel?

Fifteen minutes in a 325 degree oven on the center rack, but it varies depending on thickness of the fish. To test to see if it is done, poke the fork tines into the thickest portion at a 45-degree angle., gently twist the fork and pull up some of the fish. If it flakes easily, then it is done.