Who played the original jingle bells?

Jingle bells was first recorded by Will Lyle on 10-30-1889 on a Edison cylinder but there are no known surviving copies. The earliest surviving recording was made by Edison Male Quartette in 1898 also on an Edison cylinder as part of a Christmas medley “sleigh Ride Party”