What happened to b.i.g.?

The hip hop artist was shot four times in a drive-by shooting in Los Angeles, California, one of which was fatal. The murder of Christopher Wallace, better known by his stage names "the Notorious B.I.G." and "Biggie Smalls," occurred in the early hours of March 9, 1997.