When is y. a. vowel?

The letter Y can be regarded as both a vowel and a consonant. In the words "myth" or "hymn" it's a vowel, and also in words such as "my." On the other hand, in words like "beyond," "young," and "yes," the sound is considered a consonant.

---

y. is a vowel when no other vowel represents the vowel sound in a word.