Is cholesterol in food bad?

This really depends on the type of cholesterol. There are good (HDL) and bad (LDL) forms of cholesterol. LDL contributes to buildup of fatty acids in your arteries increasing chances of heart disease and other health problems while HDL help carry LDL out of your system.