How many years does it take to become an astronaut?

To become an astronaut you must obtain a bachelor's degree in engineering, biological science, physical science, computer science or mathematics. After that you must then have at least three years of related professional experience OR at least 1,000 hours pilot-in-command time on jet aircraft.