What is monty python?

Monty Python’s Flying Circus is a British surreal sketch comedy series created by and starring Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Michael Palin and Terry Gilliam, who became known as "Monty Python." The series began on October 5, 1969 and ended on December 5, 1974 after 45 episodes