What was the first recorded hurricane?

No one knows when the first hurricane took place. Christopher Columbus wrote the first record of a hurricane in 1494 when he described a storm that struck the island of Hispaniola. The first recorded hurricane to strike the U.S. mainland took place in August 1635.