How many ounces in a can of coconut?

There are many types of cans and unfortunately they can vary over time (older recipes may helpfully refer to numbers for the type of can). It is best to find a recipe that refers to ounces or grams. Ratios for baked goods, custards are important. However, most cans in the US are around 16 ounces.