How long do mum plants last?

Mums, also known as chrysanthemums, are perennial plants, which means the blooms die in the colder months and bloom again during their growing season. The average lifespan of a mum plant is three to four years.

---

Each variety differs, but most mums will continue to bloom for four to eight weeks. There are many ways to extend the flowering of chrysanthemums. Deadheading spent blooms, fertilizing in the spring and avoiding overcrowding will help your mums produce more blooms over a longer period of time.