How long does it take to thought a twelve pound turkey?

According to the USDA, when thawing your turkey in the refrigerator, you'll need to allow 24 hours for every four to five pounds, so about 3 days. When you thaw your turkey by submerging it in cold water (changing the water every 30 minutes), allow about 30 minutes per pound, so about 6 hours.