When was electricity invented?

Electricity was not invented at all. It is a natural phenomenon. In 1752, Benjamin Franklin performed his famous kite experiment to show that electricity powered lightning. In 1800, Alessandro Volta invented the electric battery. And Michael Faraday learned to create electricity with magnets.