What's the difference in a thunderstorm and a thundershower?

A thunderstorm is a storm consisting of thunder and lightning produced by a cumulonimbus, usually accompanied with heavy rain, wind, and sometimes hail. A thundershower is a short thunderstorm commonly accompanied by heavy rain.