What does a clam mean?

A clam is a type of bivalved mollusk that lives in shallow waters slightly under the sand. They may be eaten steamed or roasted. There are many varieties with varying degrees of saltiness. Additionally, a clam has referred to money - how many clams is that going to cost me.