How long does it take to cook fresh purple whole peas?

Boil the peas over high heat, for 2 minutes, stirring twice. Reduce heat to medium-low, add cover and simmer until tender, 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

---

Cook Time for the purple hull pea is 2 hrs.