How do you harvest bee pollen?

In commercially managed honey bee hives, pollen can be easily collected from returning foragers through the use of pollen 'traps'. These traps are placed either in front of or underneath the hive entrance, and returning foragers are required to walk through a metal or plastic mesh to enter the hive.