Why do some people have freckles?

Basically, it's all in your genes and the sun. Freckles show up when ultraviolet radiation hits the skin. In some people, melanin are spread out evenly, and sun exposure produces a tan. In others, melanocytes are bunched up, and the sun produces crazy constellations of melanin, a.k.a. freckles.